Follow by Email

2.10.2020

The Missing Planet:The Cairns of Sainctuarie 2 ~ Review with Giveaway

Join Us For This Book Tour from Jan 27, 2020 to Feb 14, 2020!



The Missing Planets
The Cairns of Sainctuarie #2
By Hawk MacKinney

More than 30 generations have passed since The Bleikovat Event and the Murian people and the planet Myr are part of the Confederated League of Allied Star Systems. A League in which the planet Teranto hopes to become a full planet member. But some unexplained deaths among the Teratoan people is being blamed upon the Murians bu those opposed to change.

Eklam a'Qoc, unlike his Uncle a'Qoc, is more than willing to embrace the change and improvements such an alliance will bring. The unexplained deaths are troubling but Ek doesn't blame the Murian people or his mentor Grand Duke Herklo Korvo. Korvo is concerned especially when unexplained attacks start targetting various points throughout the League - attacks that appear capable of destroying a world and its people.

Facing an ancient mystery with ties to Teranto stories of long ago referencing "Old Ones" who would one day return, Ek, Korvo, and other scientists make a journey to discover the truth. But this is a journey from which they might not return. Rift intrusions are threatening the stability of everything they hold dear and the very portals they need to use.

Traveling to the further reaches of space to an unknown planet that an ancient map refers to as Jupiterr in the Solrais system Ek and Korvo are faced with an unwelcome truth their unknown enemy has seemingly found them yet again. With time short and growing shorter, they do the only thing possible, reach out with a warning to the inhabitants of Eorthe about the threat to their very existence.

This book has a good steady, pacing and a lot of technical talk which if you don't understand is nothing to worry about (just pretend that you get it and read on). There is a glossary of terms located at the end of the book to help out with some of the local phrasing but not the technical. This book while the second in the series can totally be a stand-alone title given the great length of time that is between books, the new characters, and the new setting. I have to admit I liked this book better than the first probably just because it was more scientifically driven, but both had the urgency of survival as a driving force behind the action. This is definitely a book for fans of Science or Fantasy Fiction and not someone looking for a Cozy Mystery or a Gentle Read.

I received a complimentary copy of this book with no expectations but that I offer my honest opinion. All thoughts expressed are my own.


Book Details:

Book TitleThe Cairns of Sainctuarie: The Missing Planet (Volume II) by Hawk MacKinney
Category:  Adult Fiction (18 +),  258 pages
Genre:  Science Fiction
Publisher:  Sage Words Publishing
Release date:  April 2015
Tour dates: Jan 27, 2020 to Feb 14, 2020
Content Rating:  PG-13: Some of the war scenes are graphic.


Book Description:
Generations after the great Murian upheaval of the Malfesian War against the Bleikovats, the Accords between planets Terato and Myr are signed. Provisional Outpost Terato is under construction near a farm where Teratoan orphan Eklam a’Qoc lives with his uncle and cousin.

Inquisitive strong-minded Eklam, Ek to everyone in the village, is captivated by the off-worlders technology and becomes an apprentice to the Outpost Terato’s Murian commander, Grand Duke Korvo. Uncle a’Qoc disapproves; wants nothing to do with these outlanders, wants their shimmering doorway portals-of-travel banned from Terato. As Outpost Terato becomes operational it seems to become a harbinger stirring ageless secrets of The Old Ones and their frightful weapons, of ancient Teratoan ruins, mysterious glowing lights, unexplained killings, a sacred book in a language no Teratoan can read, a moon that doesn’t behave like a moon in its wobbly orbit.

From cosmic reaches beyond space and time, the ominous secrets of Terato’s ancient ruins become more threatening. Ek and Korvo realize both their worlds face extinction with any hope buried somewhere in unknown galaxies far beyond a pastoral Terato or the sophisticated star-empire of the Murians; of missing planets in a star system with its single star in a galaxy far-removed unknown to Terato or Myr. They travel across the universe to a place long forgotten to fight this unknown foe with weapons only dreamed of. Together they face the beast that wishes to consume the entire universe.

Buy the Book:
Amazon.com ~ Barnes and Noble
 


Meet the Author:

Hawk has authored several works of fiction including a historical romance Moccasin Trace which was nominated for both the prestigious Michael Shaara Award for Excellence in Civil War Fiction and the Writers Notes Book Award. His Cairns of Sainctuarie Science Fiction Series and his Moccasin Hollow Mystery Series have received national and international attention.

With postgraduate degrees and faculty positions in several medical universities, Hawk MacKinney has taught graduate courses in both the United States and Jerusalem. His professional writing includes articles on chordate neuroembryology, and aerospace research on muscle metabolic behavior in multi-orbital environments.


Connect with the Author:     
website  

Tour Schedule:
Jan 27 – Rockin’ Book Reviews – series spotlight / guest post / giveaway
Jan 28 – Delilah Bluette - book review of The Bleikovat Event - Volume I
Jan 29 – Book Corner News and Reviews - book review of The Bleikovat Event - Volume I / giveaway
Jan 30 – Book Corner News and Reviews - book review of The Missing Planets – Volume II / giveaway
Jan 31 – Nighttime Reading Center – book review of The Bleikovat Event - Volume I / giveaway
Feb 3 – Book Corner News and Reviews - book review of Inanna Phantom – Volume III / giveaway
Feb 4 – Delilah Bluette - book review of The Missing Planets – Volume II
Feb 5 – Locks, Hook, and Books – book review of The Bleikovat Event - Volume I / guest post / giveaway
Feb 6 - Turning the Pages - book review of The Bleikovat Event - Volume I / author interview / giveaway
Feb 6 – Locks, Hook, and Books – book review of The The Missing Planets - Volume II / giveaway
Feb 7 – Nighttime Reading Center – book review of The Missing Planets / giveaway
Feb 7 - Delilah Bluette - book review of Inanna Phantom / guest post
Feb 11 – Turning the Pages - book review of The The Missing Planets - Volume II / giveaway
Feb 12 – Turning the Pages - book review of Inanna Phantom – Volume III / giveaway
Feb 13 – Locks, Hook, and Books – book review of Inanna Phantom - Volume III / giveaway
Feb 14 -  Nighttime Reading Center – book review of Inanna Phantom – Volume III / giveaway

Enter the Giveaway:
Win 1 of 5 print book of Hawk MacKinney's INANNA PHANTOM
1 of 5 ebook of Hawk MacKinney's INANNA PHANTOM, 
or a $20 Amazon Gift Card 
(open USA and Canada) 
(11 winners) 
(ends 2/21/2020)

a Rafflecopter giveaway


 

2 comments:

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this great science fiction novel that is certainly a must-read for science fiction fans.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Blooming with Books - Thank you for reviewing The Missing Planets, Volume II in The Cairns of Sainctuarie Sci-Fi Series. Your review and spotlight of the titles of the Cairns series is much appreciated…

    Hawk MacKinney
    www.hawkmackinney.net
    The Missing Planets – Vol II video
    URL https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLOOHlQ3IYs&feature=youtu.be

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for your comments.
~ Blooming with Books