Follow by Email

2.07.2020

The Bleikovat Event: Cairns of Sainctuarie 1 ~ Review with Giveaway

Join Us For This Book Tour from Jan 27, 2020 to Feb 14, 2020!



The Bleikovat Event
The Cairns of Sainctuarie #1
By Hawk MacKinney

The Bleikovat Event is about to forever alter the Murian world as they know it. Senseless war has come and none who oppose subjugation are going to be allowed to live. The Feldovats are slowly dying beneath the cruel forward advance of the Green Dragon forces of Bleikovia. With few options, Etkaa consort of Celo Klarvkon makes a decision as he lays dying from a deadly poison. Going against tradition she determines that those few remaining must turn into the treacherous wintery mountains - their only hope to survive the Dragon forces. But before leaving anything and everything of value is turned to ash thwarting the objective of this invasion.

As the dangers and losses continue to mount Etkaa stands strong becoming more than any woman among her people has ever dreamed of. Named Regentkaa she is the new face of hope for her people as they continue on into an unknown future. A future that will involve more sacrifice, more duty, and more heart than she has ever before been called upon giving.

The Bkeikovat Event is the first volume in The Cairns of Sanctuarie series and it is set in a world that visually is different from ours in coloring and has two suns instead of one. But in other ways it is similar - it is a world at war and it is subject to the whims of nature. And when I say it is a world at war this is the main focal point of the whole book. Defeating the Feldovats becomes an obsession for the Dragons and their Overseers an obsession that could well destroy them too. And one woman's strength of will may be the only thing capable of saving them.

As a whole, this was a fairly interesting book. At times the battles seemed to drag and the endless arguing over what to do next reminded me of political wrangling over some word or phrasing in a bill being presented in Congress. Some of the words used are not ones that this reader is used to but there is a glossary of terms located at the end of the book to help out. This is most definitely a book for fans of Science or Fantasy Fiction and not someone looking for a Cozy Mystery or a Gentle Read.

I received a complimentary copy of this book with no expectations but that I offer my honest opinion. All thoughts expressed are my own.

Book Details:

Book TitleThe Cairns of Sainctuarie: The Bleikovat Event (Volume 1) by Hawk MacKinney
Category:  Adult Fiction (18 +),  228 pages
Genre:  Science Fiction
Publisher:  Sage Words Publishing
Release date:  Oct 2012
Tour dates: Jan 27, 2020 to Feb 14, 2020
Content Rating:  PG-13: Some of the war scenes are graphic. 

Book Description:

From a rocky outcrop a battle-widowed Etkaa, gazed down at the death and upheaval. Rancid green Murian blood stenched the dusklit breezes from the haze-dimmed river marshlands. Nothing has been spared by the Green Dragon forces of Bleikovia. In skirmishes along the Feldon River, Etkaa’s mate is fatally wounded with deadly selvon poison. Through a gruesome mountain trek of icy blizzards, they elude the Green Dragon. The battered starving Feldovats reach the coast at Eedov City only to be confronted by their implacable enemy determined to destroy the remaining Klarvkon rabble. Taking passage on crowded Maalon freighters, the refugees escape toward a new life among their Maalon hosts. Enraged Bleikovats move against the Klarvkons, bringing indiscriminate bloodshed. War once again surfaces, as it did in the muddy filth along the Feldon River of Malfesov, and becomes a different kind of war.

Buy the Book:
Amazon.com ~ Barnes and Noble
 


Meet the Author:

Hawk has authored several works of fiction including a historical romance Moccasin Trace which was nominated for both the prestigious Michael Shaara Award for Excellence in Civil War Fiction and the Writers Notes Book Award. His Cairns of Sainctuarie Science Fiction Series and his Moccasin Hollow Mystery Series have received national and international attention.

With postgraduate degrees and faculty positions in several medical universities, Hawk MacKinney has taught graduate courses in both the United States and Jerusalem. His professional writing includes articles on chordate neuroembryology, and aerospace research on muscle metabolic behavior in multi-orbital environments.


Connect with the Author:     
website  

Tour Schedule:
Jan 27 – Rockin’ Book Reviews – series spotlight / guest post / giveaway
Jan 28 – Delilah Bluette - book review of The Bleikovat Event - Volume I
Jan 29 – Book Corner News and Reviews - book review of The Bleikovat Event - Volume I / giveaway
Jan 30 – Book Corner News and Reviews - book review of The Missing Planets – Volume II / giveaway
Jan 31 – Nighttime Reading Center – book review of The Bleikovat Event - Volume I / giveaway
Feb 3 – Book Corner News and Reviews - book review of Inanna Phantom – Volume III / giveaway
Feb 4 – Delilah Bluette - book review of The Missing Planets – Volume II
Feb 5 – Locks, Hook, and Books – book review of The Bleikovat Event - Volume I / guest post / giveaway
Feb 6 - Turning the Pages - book review of The Bleikovat Event - Volume I / author interview / giveaway
Feb 6 – Locks, Hook, and Books – book review of The The Missing Planets - Volume II / giveaway
Feb 7 – Nighttime Reading Center – book review of The Missing Planets / giveaway
Feb 7 - Delilah Bluette - book review of Inanna Phantom / guest post
Feb 11 – Turning the Pages - book review of The The Missing Planets - Volume II / giveaway
Feb 12 – Turning the Pages - book review of Inanna Phantom – Volume III / giveaway
Feb 13 – Locks, Hook, and Books – book review of Inanna Phantom - Volume III / giveaway
Feb 14 -  Nighttime Reading Center – book review of Inanna Phantom – Volume III / giveaway

Enter the Giveaway:
Win 1 of 5 print book of Hawk MacKinney's INANNA PHANTOM
1 of 5 ebook of Hawk MacKinney's INANNA PHANTOM, 
or a $20 Amazon Gift Card 
(open USA and Canada) 
(11 winners) 
(ends 2/21/2020)

a Rafflecopter giveaway


 

2 comments:

  1. Blooming with Books - Thank you for reviewing The Bleikovat Event, Volume I, the premier title in The Cairns of Sainctuarie Sci-Fi Series of the bloodlines of the a’Qoc clans, the Teratoan League, the cosmic spread of the worlds involved, of Judikarr Eklam a’Qoc and his Teratoan associates, and their galactic coalitions facing invasions of their worlds. Your spotlighting the Cairns series is much appreciated…thank U…

    Hawk MacKinney
    www.hawkmackinney.net
    The Bleikovat Event – Vol I video
    URL https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-m-H8pfoh-A&feature=youtu.be

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for sharing this series that is a must have for science fiction fans.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for your comments.
~ Blooming with Books