Where He Leads ~ Review with Giveaway

Where He Leads JustRead Blog + Review Tour

Welcome to the Blog + Review Tour for Where He Leads by Lynn Lanning, hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours!

Where He Leads
Where He Leads
Desires of the Heart #1
By Lynne Lanning

Lilly's early life was not too bad but then Ma died and Pa just couldn't forgive God for taking Ma and their last baby. But Lilly had Pa, her sisters, and her brothers. But then Pa got Sugar and his time was short so he made preparations and Lilly got a new home. 

The home Pa found for her was a loving one and she made a place for herself in the Donovan family becoming the daughter they never had. Life was good and she was able to let Pa know of the joy and eternal peace that she had found with the family he had arranged for her.

The first portion of the book is focused on Lilly and her life right before leaving Pa and then her first year with her new family. This gives the reader a pretty thorough idea of Lilly's life and the strong and supportive home she moved into.

The second half deals with Lilly's early adulthood and the troubles that come to her when she falls in love. But through it all she when she puts her trust in God and prays she finds peace in the midst of her trouble. 

The book reads at times almost like a journal. It is mostly a sweet read even when difficulties are faced by the various characters. There are moments of prejudice towards certain persons because of their relationship with Cherokees who lived in the not-too-distant vicinity. Lilly uses her time and loving concern to influence others to seek out the Lord who has comforted her over the years. 

Where He Leads is based upon the life of the author's own family as is explained at the conclusion of the book. This is overall a good read. If you are looking for a book with a lot of action or suspense this doesn't really offer that. There are a few tense moments that add a little to the book but nothing too long and drawn out. This is Historical Fiction with a touch of romance.

I'm interested to see where this series goes. Does it continue Lilly's story? Or does it give us more about Lilly's siblings?  

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book with no expectations. All thoughts expressed are my own.


Title: Where He Leads
Series: Desires of the Heart #1
Author: Lynne Lanning
Release Date: January 24, 2021
Genre: Christian, Historical/Western Romance 

By the age of 11, Lilly had suffered more horrific circumstances, than any adult should have to bear. She lost both of her parents and the only home she ever knew, then was forced to move away from her brothers and sisters. 

Why had God allowed all of this tragedy? 

Pa had found the perfect home for her before his death. Through her new family’s loving care and instruction, Lilly grew into a beautiful young lady, filled with compassion, intelligence, and having a strong faith in God. 

When she met Tommy, her heart flipped! How could she make all of the life lessons she had learned, her faith in God, and Tommy fit into God’s plan for her life? Was Tommy truly part of God’s plan for her? 

Tommy and his mother’s past brought possible danger to anyone close to them. Could Lilly put her family through that? Should she abandon Tommy and the feelings she had for him? Could prayer be the answer? 

With more circumstances beyond their control fighting against them, it seemed their troubles would never end. Would God allow her the Desires of her Heart? 

PURCHASE LINKS*: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | IndieBound



Lynne Lanning

Lynne and her husband, Roger, live in the beautiful foothills of North Carolina. Enjoying the life of an artist/crafter, she nurtures three generations of creativity, encouraging the natural talents of her children and grandchildren. Her stories are full of romance and action mixed with humor and sass, encouraging her readers to identify with the characters while evoking emotion. Lynne enjoys canning and preserving fresh veggies that Roger grows in his amazing garden. She also has a passion for cooking, singing, reading, and volunteer work at her church.

CONNECT WITH LYNNE: Website | Facebook


(1) winner will receive a print copy of the Desires of the Heart series!

Where He Leads JustRead Giveaway

Be sure to check out each stop on the tour for more chances to win. The full tour schedule linked below. The giveaway began at midnight June 14, 2021, and lasts through 11:59 PM EST on June 21, 2021. The winner will be notified within 2 weeks of the close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or risk forfeiture of the prize. US only. Void where prohibited by law or logistics.

Giveaway is subject to the policies found here.


Follow along at JustRead Tours for a full list of stops!

JustRead Publicity Tours

*NOTE: This post contains affiliate links.


Thank you for your comments.
~ Blooming with Books