Follow by Email

4.18.2016

Playing the Part ~ Review

Playing the Part
A Class of Their Own #3
By Jen Turano

Lucetta Plum is the object of many admirers, all of whom have mistaken her for the parts she plays. No one outside of her dearest friends knows the real Lucetta and even from them she has kept secrets. But when an obsessive admirer turns dangerous Lucetta's secrets just may come out.

Abigail Hart has a plan to keep Lucetta safe  But there is just one problem Abigail's plan involves her grandson Bram Haverstein. Lucetta is fairly certain Abigail is up to her matchmaking ways yet again and she's the unwilling victim of the scheming.

Bram is not who his grandmother thinks he is.  In fact his estate is a tad disconcerting between its appearance, less than friendly staff, and his animals.  But Lucetta is determined to hide away from her current threat even if it means staying at Ravenwood.

Playing the Part is filled with all the light-hearted fun one has experienced in previous books by Jen Turano.  It is interesting getting to know Lucetta after having a passing acquaintance with her in After a Fashion and In Good Company.  Fans of Harriet and Millie will be delighted to know that they too make an appearance in this book.

If you are looking for a light-hearted escape from your day-to-day stresses this is just what you are looking for.  This was an easy book to get into and it was able to hold my attention throughout. Be on the look-out for Gregory - he is the best surprise of all.  I had a Gregory of my own at one time though his name was Christopher.  I thoroughly got Gregory and his antics.

I was provided a  copy of this book by the publisher Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.

About the Book:

Lucetta Plum is an actress on the rise in New York City, but must abandon her starring role when a fan's interest turns threatening. Lucetta's widowed friend, Abigail Hart, seizes the opportunity to meddle in Lucetta's life and promptly whisks her away to safety at her eligible grandson's estate. 


At first glance, Bram Haverstein appears to be a gentleman of means--albeit an eccentric one--but a mysterious career and a secret fascination with a certain actress mean there's much more to him than society knows. 

While Lucetta has no interest in Abigail's matchmaking machinations, she can't ignore the strange things going on in Bram's house and the secrets he hides. As the hijinks and hilarity that Bram, Lucetta, and their friends are swept into take a more dangerous turn, can they accept who they are behind the parts they play in time to save the day?