Edge of Dusk ~ Review

Edge of Dusk
Annie Pederson #1
By Colleen Coble

Twenty-four years ago, Annie's little sister was stolen during the darkness of the night, and Annie was left for dead. Annie has never given up hope that she might find Sarah. But she has little hope that she'll ever be found alive.

Annie's work as a Law Enforcement Ranger has helped her in her search for answers, and now she needs to put those skills to work when her first love returns home to Rock Harbor, and a nearly ten-year-old, cold case heats up, casting doubts on Jon Dunstan. Annie doesn't think Jon is guilty of murder, but she knows just how shattered her heart was when he left.

As Annie and Jon search for clues to clear his name, it soon becomes clear that someone wants the past to stay buried, and they'll do anything to stop Annie while riling up old animosities against Jon.

Edge of Dusk is the first book in the Annie Pederson series, and, as with all of Colleen Coble's books, this is one you won't want to put down. Fans of Rock Harbor are in for a whole new set of long-held secrets. This is one town that won't be mistaken for a quiet, peaceful, nothing-ever-happens-here place. Nope, this is one place that you'll want to watch your back during your visit, because you never know who might be lurking in the shadows, watching your every move.

Now I was able to enjoy this book in both print and audio - both of which were good. I do like the narration provided by Talon David. The story is read in an engaging and attention-grabbing way without being too much. So whether you want to read or listen, this book will leave eagerly awaiting book two in this new series set amongst the beauty and intrigue that is Rock Harbor.

I was provided a copy of this book with no expectations but that I provide my honest opinion - all thoughts expressed are my own.

About the Book:

Even though secrets lie off the coast of Rock Harbor, the truth will set Annie Pederson free—if it doesn’t kill her first. Return to the beloved town of Rock Harbor in the first installment of a new series by bestselling suspense author Colleen Coble.

Nine-year-old Annie Pederson’s life changed the night her sister was kidnapped. The two had been outside playing on a dock, and Annie never forgave herself for her role in her sister’s disappearance. Twenty-four years later and now a law enforcement ranger, Annie is still searching for answers as she grieves a new loss: the death of her husband and parents in a boating accident.

But Annie and her eight-year-old daughter, Kylie, aren’t the only people in the town of Rock Harbor whose lives have been marred by tragedy. While managing the property around the Tremolo Resort and Marina she inherited, Annie discovers a dead body floating in the cold Superior surf and begins to work with the sheriff’s office to tie the death to a series of other mysterious reports in the area.

At the same time, her first love, Jon Dustan, returns after nine years away, reigniting the town’s memory of a cold case he’d been suspiciously linked to before he left to pursue his orthopedic residency. For the sake of her investigation and her heart, Annie tries to stay away. But avoiding Jon becomes impossible once Annie realizes she is being targeted by someone desperate to keep secrets from the past hidden.

In this new series, bestselling romantic-suspense author Colleen Coble returns to one of her most beloved towns, where familiar faces—and unsolved cases—await.

  • First installment in the Annie Pederson series:
    • Book One: Edge of Dusk
    • Book Two: Dark of Night (available January 2023)
    • Book Three: Break of Day (available July 2023)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your comments.
~ Blooming with Books