Follow by Email

10.17.2017

The Delusion ~ Review

The Delusion
Delusion #1
By Laura Gallier

We all have our demons...

Owen Edmonds and his mother have come back to the home that belonged to the grandparents he never knew. Not the best thing when you are in the second half of your senior year of high school. And to make it even worse Masonville High has had an uncommonly high number of student suicides - 8 since September and the school year has several more months to go.

Like everyone else, Owen is confused and concerned and his girlfriend Jess with her up-and-down moods has him especially worried. But when a trip into the woods and an encounter with a strange older man turns into a quest for answers Owen is about to learn more than he ever wanted to know. And the proof of the demise of Masonville High is before his very eyes.

Unfortunately, Owen can't unsee what is before him and it is totally messing with his mind. Worse whenever he tries to describe what he is seeing other think he is losing it. Everyone he sees is altered - shackled and being attacked by hideous beings.

But time is running out as the school year counts down and the student toll rises. Can Owen's new sight offer any hope? Or will the entire student population fall to these beings?

Fans of Frank Peretti, Billy Coffey, and Chuck Black will enjoy this book which promises at the conclusion to be the first in a series. This is a battle between good and evil that takes place in the spiritual realm just outside of our perceivable visual range. Owen has no belief in such things but for reasons unknown to him he can see into the spiritual. This book is most definitely one for the older teen/YA and adult reader just because of some of the situations are not appropriate for younger readers. 

Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book with no expectations of a positive review ~ All opinions expressed are my own.

About the Book:
By March of Owen Edmonds’s senior year, eleven students at Masonville High School have committed suicide. Amid the media frenzy and chaos, Owen tries to remain levelheaded—until he endures his own near-death experience and wakes to a distressing new reality.

The people around him suddenly appear to be shackled and enslaved.

Owen frantically seeks a cure for what he thinks are crazed hallucinations, but his delusions become even more sinister. An army of hideous, towering beings, unseen by anyone but Owen, are preying on his girlfriend and classmates, provoking them to self-destruction.

Owen eventually arrives at a mind-bending conclusion: he’s not imagining the evil—everyone else is blind to its reality. He must warn and rescue those he loves . . . but this proves to be no simple mission. Will he be able to convince anyone to believe him before it’s too late?

Owen’s heart-pounding journey through truth and delusion will force him to reconsider everything he believes. He both longs for and fears the answers to questions that are quickly becoming too dangerous to ignore.