Follow by Email


Buried Secrets ~ Review

Buried Secrets
Men of Valor 1
By Irene Hannon

They didn't mean for it to happen, but it did and now someone will do anything to make sure this secret stays buried forever.

Lisa Grant has left the big city stress of the Chicago PD behind for Carson, Missouri.  But when an excavation site unearths human remains the new Chief of Police is about to have her job stress ratchet up.

When the Carson PD puts in a call to County for assistance Mac McGregor is sent to assist.  After promptly putting his foot in his mouth he actually manages to make a better impression.

This case will test both their skills and resolve to find the truth.

I really love the prologue and how it doesn't reveal the identity of the mastermind behind everything. In fact one is several chapters into the book before said identity is revealed.  And it is even further into the book before one learns the whole truth of what happened that night.

If you've read Irene Hannon in the past you won't be disappointed in this latest offering from her. Mystery, romance and a good dose of suspense all wrapped up between an intriguing cover.

I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher Revell through their blogger program in exchange for my honest review.

About the Book:

They both wanted quieter, safer lives.
But crime never sleeps . . . 
and killers keep killing.

After seven years as a Chicago homicide detective, Lisa Grant has hit a wall. Ready for a kinder, gentler life, she takes a job as a small-town police chief. But the discovery of a human skeleton by a construction crew at the edge of town taxes the resources of her department. A call for assistance brings detective Mac McGregor, an ex-Navy SEAL, to her doorstep. As they work to solve the mystery behind the unmarked grave, danger begins to shadow them. Someone doesn't want this dead person telling any tales--and will stop at nothing to make certain a life-shattering secret stays buried.

Master storyteller Irene Hannon is back with an exciting new series featuring former special forces operatives now in the thick of the action in civilian life. Hannon is at the top of her game in this can't-put-it-down thriller that will have readers up until the wee hours devouring every page.

Irene Hannon is the bestselling author of more than forty-five novels, including That Certain SummerOne Perfect Spring, and the Heroes of Quantico, Guardians of Justice, and Private Justice series. Her books have been honored with two coveted RITA Awards from Romance Writers of America, a Carol Award, three HOLT Medallions, a Daphne du Maurier Award, two Reviewers' Choice Awards from RT Book Reviews magazine, a Retailers' Choice Award, a Booksellers' Best Award, and a National Readers' Choice Award. In addition, she is a two-time Christy Award finalist, and Booklist included one of her novels in its "Top 10 Inspirational Fiction" list for 2011. She lives in Missouri. Learn more at