Follow by Email


With Autumn's Return ~ Review

With Autumn's Return
Westward Winds #3
By Amanda Cabot

With Autumn's Return is the concluding book in the Harding sisters trilogy ~ Westward Winds.  This time the focus is on the youngest Harding sister - Elizabeth.  Elizabeth has just graduated from medical school and is determined to make her mark as a doctor.  But with prejudices against women doctors she heads to Cheyenne, after all Wyoming has given women the vote so they should welcome a doctor of the female persuasion. But evidently giving women the vote is vastly different than going to a woman doctor...

Jason Nordling has been looking forward to meeting Cheyenne's newest resident, but he is shocked to learn that E.M. Harding, MD is Doctor Elizabeth May Harding.  Not that he objects to a pretty face, but he knows from experience that Cheyenne is not as open-minded as Elizabeth seems to think.  But his warning falls, not on deaf ears, but ears that rise to the challenge.

Slowly Elizabeth wins the confidence of Cheyenne's fairer population, but her reputation is soon threatened when she takes on a medical case.  After all she's treating whores and single men all while she is unchaperoned!  

When a murder is committed Jason and Elizabeth work together to prove the innocence of the accused party.  But can her skills as a doctor and his oratory skills as a lawyer solve the case and bring the guilty party to justice?  Or will their efforts cost them their lives and even a chance at love?

With Autumns Return is as equally delightful as the two previous books in the series.  And Gwen and Rose are back and this time Gwen may find true love, but only if she can see herself through the eyes of her Creator.  These are characters that you will love to visit again.  And it is fun to get a glimpse of medicine in the late 1880's and even the prejudices of the time to anyone who didn't fit into the mold society had created for them.

I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher Revell in exchange for my honest review of this book - all opinions expressed are my own.

She's planning on instant success. She didn't plan on love.

When Elizabeth Harding arrives in Cheyenne to open her medical practice, she is confident that the future is as bright as the warm Wyoming sun. Certain she'll have a line of patients eager for her services, she soon discovers the town may not welcome a new physician--especially a lady doctor. Even Jason Nordling, the handsome young attorney next door, seems to disapprove of her chosen profession.

When a web of deceit among Cheyenne's wealthiest residents threatens to catch Elizabeth and Jason in its snare, they must risk working together to save one of Elizabeth's patients--even if it means falling in love.

Amanda Cabot is the bestselling author of the Texas Dreams series, as well as Christmas RosesSummer of Promise, and Waiting for Spring. Her books have been finalists for the ACFW Carol Awards and the Booksellers Best. She lives in Wyoming. Find out more at