Follow by Email

7.02.2017

The Evaporation of Sofi Snow ~ Review

The Evaporation of Sofi Snow
Evaporation of Sofi Snow #1
By Mary Weber

Who wouldn't want to pick up this book simply because of the title and the cover art? But what's inside in even more intriguing. But be warned this isn't a book that can wrap it all up in a neat little package in this one book. But those who have read Mary Weber's previous series (The Storm Siren Trilogy) will know the wait will be worth it.

This book opens at some future date as Earth is caught up in the Fourth World War, a war that is about to be arrested by the arrival of an ice planet. The arrival of the Delonese ice-planet occurred during Sofi Snow's sixth year and forever altered Earth's existence thanks to their tech abilities.

Eleven years have passed since the Delonese arrived and Sofi's life is not what she wants. Her father has died. The boy she loved betrayed her. And she and her brother Shilo are part of Earth's third Fanfight Games and she is determined that this time they will win.

Fanfight Games, you ask??? A multileveled survival tournament that is a mix of the real and the virtual. In this case, Shilo is the team's competitor who takes part in the physical aspects while Sofi works behind the scenes with others to add virtual challenges and to guide Shilo in his quest of victory for their Corporation.

And, news flash, the world is no longer ruled by governments but rather corporations and there are 30 with this power. And fortunately, or not, Sofi and Shilo's mother is in control of Corp 30. Yep, seems mom is intent on exploiting her two children for Corporate glory and Sofi has a problem with this along with her mother's lack of motherly attention throughout their lives.

But in a moment of betrayal, everything threatens to come undone. An attack takes out Corp 30's team and Sofi is left reeling from the attack and the report that her brother and team are dead. But Sofi, convinced that someone is hiding the truth about Shilo turns to the one person she never hoped to see again - Miguel.

But Miguel, as Ambassador to Delonese, has the connections that Sofi needs to find the truth she seeks.  And the answers she's seeking all seemingly point to Delonese and Miguel is Sofi's only hope of getting there.

This book is fast-paced reading that takes unexpected twists and turns that will keep the pages turning and the reader intrigued.  This isn't a reworking of the Storm Siren series - the story worlds are vastly different and the characters in this world are gifted through technology rather than fantastical powers. I highly recommend this book but just a warning the main players in this story are broken people who have their own ghosts that they are trying to forget or escape (revealed throughout the story). And the conclusion is one that will absolutely stun you - so don't read ahead as you will totally ruin the ending - which I might add will leave you in riveting anticipation of book 2 (Reclaiming Shilo Snow).

I was provided a review copy of this book by the publisher through BookLook Bloggers with no expectation of a positive review. All expressed opinions are my own.


About the Book:
For fans of Ender’s Game and Blade Runner comes a story of video gaming, blood, and power.
Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth’s Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi’s the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she’s convinced he’s been taken to the ice-planet.
Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.
For Miguel—Earth’s charming young playboy—the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight’s bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he’s a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford.
From the award-winning author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, step into a diverse cast of characters spanning from the electric metropolises of earth to the chilling alien planet above, in a story of re-finding yourself in the midst of losing the one thing you love. Before it all evaporates.