Follow by Email

11.30.2016

Scarlet Moon ~ Review

Scarlet Moon
Children of the Blood Moon #1
By S.D. Grimm

Someone is targeting the children who were born on the night of the Blood Moon and the fate of a world is in the balance. The Children of the Blood Moon all have an identifying birthmark and skills that have gifted them. But with people intent on capturing them no one is safe - not their families, their friends, or their villages.

With villages destroyed and evidence pointing to the Feravolk as the guilty party Queen Idla provides the comfort and encouragement the people seek. But evil is at work and not all is as it seems to be. And caught up in this onslaught of evil is Jayden, a young woman whose very family is destroyed by those seeking the gifted. But Jayden is more than just one of the Children of the Moon - she maybe one of the four Deliverers who were prophesied.

But surviving long enough to find out what exactly a Deliverer is suppose to be and do may take all of Jayden's skills along with those of her new allies and friends.  Time is short and the danger is great. Bonds will be forged, sacrifices made, and lives will be lost.  Loyalties will be questioned and evil will have its day. But who will win this battle and gain an advantage in the war that seems sure to be coming.

Scarlet Moon is one book you'll have trouble putting down if you like books that hint at something greater is yet to come. Fans of Jill Williamson's Kinsman Chronicles and Nadine Brandes's Out of Time series will love this debut. My only complaint is I now have to wait for the second book  to come out.  I highly recommend this book for fans of Speculative Fiction. I totally love the cover - it so portrays the danger and all its facets wonderfully!

I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher with no expectation of a positive review or otherwise - all opinions expressed are my own.




About the Book:
Destiny can pick someone else. Evil is slipping through the cracks of its prison, and all Soleden trembles in its wake. Yet some would harness that evil to their own ends, and first among them is Idla, the sorceress queen bent on distorting the world. 

Only one can stand in her way: Jayden. Upon realizing her mark as the prophesied Deliverer, Jayden conceals herself from her enemies and her Feravolk countrymen. But after the harm the Feravolk caused to her family, she s loath to rescue the not-so-innocent.

Hiding her mark was never easy, but now that Jayden knows both Queen Idla and the Feravolk are after her, hiding her gift of the Blood Moon will be impossible.