Follow by Email


Light of the Last ~ Review

Light of the Last
Wars of the Realm #3
By Chuck Black

Drew Carter has never been in as much trouble as he is now.  He attacked two federal agents, took out a gang (without any fatalities), was accused of attacking a campus, and has been arrested.  And then there are the invaders that he alone can see.

Who are these beings that seem to be at war just outside the visual perception of every other person?  And why has he been blessed / cursed with this gift?

Drew Carter's life is about to change in a big way once again, but this time his unique skills are about to be called upon by the U.S. Government.  There is a catch though, he needs to sever all ties with his current life. Can he truly cut Sydney out of his life forever?

Light of the Last brings answers as to Drew's importance and why he has attracted the attention of Heaven's legions and the Fallen.  The War of the Realm is listed as being a trilogy so this is suppose to be the concluding book in this series.  While the story is wrapped up there is room for more to be explored if not in a series continuation perhaps in a spin-off series.

Cloak of the Light is Drew's story while Rise of the Fallen is Validus's.  Light of the Last is the exciting culmination of these two stories and it is action packed.  This series introduced me to Chuck Black and I have not regretted a single moment spent between these covers exploring the world as seen through the eyes of Drew Carter and those tasked with watching him.

I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

About the Book

To Fight What Others Can’t 
You Must See What Others Don’t

After an accident left him temporarily blind, Drew Carter didn’t just regain his sight. He now sees what others can’t imagine–an entire spiritual realm of mighty beings at war. 
Forget the gift, Drew just wants his life back. Part of that involves Sydney Carlyle, a woman he is inexplicably drawn to. When he’s offered the chance to become a CIA agent, it seems the way to redeem his past. The only problem–his visions of the supernatural realm are increasing in frequency. 
It’s up to the warrior angel Validus and his hand-picked team of heavenly agents to protect the unbelieving Drew. Validus now knows that the young man is at the epicenter of a global spiritual war, and the angels must use a millennia of battle experience keep Drew alive, for the Fallen want him dead.
Surrounded by spiritual warriors and targeted by demons, Drew’s faced with an impossible decision that will forever alter the destiny of America...and his own soul.

CHUCK BLACK, a former F-16 fighter pilot and tactical combat communications engineer, is the author of thirteen novels, including the popular Kingdom Series and The Knights of Arrethtrae series. Chuck and his wife, Andrea, have six children and live in North Dakota.