Follow by Email

5.13.2015

The Brass Giant ~ Review with Giveaway

The Brass Giant
A Chroniker City Story
By Brooke Johnson

Petra Wade wants to be a engineer with the Guild.  But she is a girl and as such is not allowed to enter the Guild.  But Petra knows that she belongs in the Guild, she feels it in her very being.  If only she could convince the members of the Guild that she has the skills needed to earn her a place within its walls.

But Petra doesn't know who she is, she's one of the victims of the Guild fire, she lost her family and her heritage.  Her days are spent working as a shop girl cleaning and tinkering with damaged clocks and similar small machines.

But when she sees a young engineer showing off his automaton, she can't help pointing out its flaws.  Her knowledge and critique convince Emmerich Goss that he needs Petra's assistance if he is to perfect his automaton within the time frame he has been given.

But accepting Emmerich's offered chance will put them both in danger.  And if caught the charge is treason with a possible sentence of execution.  But something about Emmerich and the chance to create an automaton is worth the risk.  

More than her life is at stake if she's not careful, she could lose her heart.

But there is a faction that is determined to change the world forever and Petra's work with Emmerich is about to become the catalyst that will decide the fate of the world.  Who can be trusted?  And who is manipulating the Guild?  Discovering the truth may be Petra and Emmerich's only hope.

The Brass Giant is an exciting and entertaining story.  Fans of Steampunk, Romance, Alternate Histories, Mysteries, or just Fiction in general will find much to love in this book.

I was provided a digital loan of this book in exchange for my honest review, but I enjoyed this book so much I purchased a copy so that I could read it again at a later date.  I, for one, hope to read more Chroniker City stories in the not too distant future.

Title: The Brass Giant
Author: Brooke Johnson
Publisher: Harper Voyage Impulse
Genre: Steampunk
Format: Kindle

Sometimes, even the most unlikely person can change the world

Seventeen-year-old Petra Wade, self-taught clockwork engineer, wants nothing more than to
become a certified member of the Guild, an impossible dream for a lowly shop girl. Still, she
refuses to give up, tinkering with any machine she can get her hands on, in between working and
babysitting her foster siblings.

When Emmerich Goss–handsome, privileged, and newly recruited into the Guild–needs help
designing a new clockwork system for a top-secret automaton, it seems Petra has finally found
the opportunity she’s been waiting for. But if her involvement on  the project is discovered,
Emmerich will be marked for treason, and a far more dire fate would await Petra.

Working together in secret, they build the clockwork giant, but as the deadline for its completion
nears, Petra discovers a sinister conspiracy from within the Guild council … and their automaton
is just the beginning.

To Purchase The Brass Giant:


EXCERPT

A machine is more than its function, more than the parts that shape it. 
The gears, pinions, and springs, they make the machine tick, but deeper 
than that—beyond the spindles and bearings, beyond the weights and 
levers—a machine is truth. 
Lady Chroniker


About the Author:
Brooke is a stay-at-home mom, amateur seamstress, RPG enthusiast, and art hobbyist, in 
addition to all that book writing. As the jack-of-all-trades bard of the family, she adventures through life with her fiercely-bearded paladin of a husband, their daughter the sticky-fingered rogue, and their cowardly wizard of a dog, with only a sleep spell in his spellbook.                                                                                                                                                                                                   They currently reside in Northwest Arkansas, but once they earn enough loot and experience, they’ll build a proper castle somewhere and defend against all manner of dragons and goblins, and whatever else dares take them on.


For More Information
Visit Brooke at her website
Connect with her online at the following:



Facebook

Twitter


Google Plus

a Rafflecopter giveaway