Follow by Email

2.08.2015

Beneath the Forsaken City ~ Review

Beneath the Forsaken City
The Song of Seare 2
By C.E. Laureano

Having escaped Conor and Aine are again separated by circumstances beyond their control.  Each struggles with the possibility that the other may be dead, while at the same time facing a period of testing.  Testing that will reveal just how strong their trust and faith in Comdiu truly is.

Having helped Conor and Aine escape, Eoghan returns to the brotherhood to resume his place and to accept whatever punishment Liam deems applicable to his crime.  

War is coming and the sidhe are growing in influence over those who have rejected Comdiu.  Keondric's power is growing as his forces prepare to assault Ard Dhaimhin and capture the ancient secrets it protects.

It is during this time that new gifts among Comdiu's followers are discovered.  Gifts that are needed to preserve what is and to restore that which has been lost.  But can the gifts be seen for what they truly are or will they be used for individual gain?

Beneath the Forsaken City is a time of loss and a time of learning.  Conor, Aine and Eoghan must learn what their own weaknesses are and that their true strength lies not in the gifts Comdiu has given, but in Comdiu himself.  And unfortunately some lessons are are costly.

Beneath the Forsaken City picks up where Oath of the Brotherhood left off.  And to truly grasp and understand the second book in The Song of Seare series you need to read the books in order as many references are made to incidents that happened prior.

This is an exciting and thoughtful book. It will keep your attention from the opening sentence, "Conor Mac Nir leaned against the railing of the Resolute in the dark, watching the choppy seas splash along the cog's wooden hull." until the last sentence, "You are."  And between these two sentences exist words that will pull you into the world of Seare.

Fans of Tolkien, C.S. Lewis and George MacDonald have a new world to explore - Seare.

Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through their blog network in exchange for my honest review.

About the Book:
A Storm on the horizon.
A Brotherhood scattered.
A future denied.
Who will stand against the darkness?

Conor and Aine have barely escaped Seare with their lives. Conor knows he must return to 
find the harp that could end the Red Druid’s reign of terror, but in the midst of their escape, 
he and Aine are torn apart once more. Surrounded by despair and thrown into as much danger 
as they left behind, Conor and Aine must cling to the whispers of Comdiu’s plans for them and 
the homeland that depends on their survival. But at what cost? Will they learn to depend on 
Comdiu completely? Or will they give up hope?