Follow by Email

9.30.2014

The Remaining ~ Review

The Remaining
Novelization by Travis Thrasher

The Remaining is a story that you don't want to read right before bed.  If you do be prepared to stay up through the night because this is the type of book that will keep you up.

One year ago Lauren started having visions, visions that ended in pain and hurting.  And the pain was being felt by her best friends.  And on the day of Dan and Skylar's wedding Lauren's nightmares come true...

Tragedy strikes shortly after the marriage vows are exchanged. And on a day that should be filled with celebrations of new beginnings, everything is forever altered and those left to make sense of everything are baffled.  Carnage and chaos are making their presence known and the survivors have a choice to make.  A choice that will either end everything or be a new beginning.

Sometimes the path to true freedom is the one that comes with facing the nightmare.

The Remaining is a novelization of a movie of the same name.  This is an intense and dramatic Rapture story that is told through a variety of voices.  The gathering of friends and family for a wedding is the focal point of the book until the Rapture occurs.  This isn't your typical clothes left behind story which just from the cover of the book should be fairly obvious.  I mean look at the cover it is pretty creepy looking.

Fans of Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti should find this book to be highly appealing.

I was provided with a copy of this book by Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.

About the Book:
The Remaining is a novelization of the apocalyptic movie from Sony Affirm. Just after a young couple says their vows, the earth shakes, and some people die suddenly and are taken away. The rest of their wedding party and friends are left to wrestle with what happened and with their faith. Characters struggle with secret love, dreams, hopes, and beliefs as they continue to evaluate their faith. This book and movie are both action-packed thrillers that will encourage audiences to think about their beliefs.